## MARYLAND COMMISSION on **CLIMATE CHANGE**

## **MEETING NOTES**

Chairman Ben Grumbles called the last meeting of the year to order on Monday, November 9, 2020 at 1:00 p.m.

Chris Hoagland, MCCC lead staff, called the roll, with 22 members in attendance.

The Chairman thanked the Commission members, leadership and the staff of MDE, DNR and UMCES for their hard work over the year. He signaled that this meeting is to listen to comments by the public, and for the members to vote on the 2020 Annual Report that is due to be submitted to Governor Hogan and the General Assembly by November 15, 2020.

Before the vote, the floor was open to public comments:

Ellen Valentino, who represents the Mid Atlantic Petroleum Distributors, said the association has trouble with the Transportation Climate Initiative's (TCI) cap and trade and gasoline initiative; (Maryland is a member of TCI). The association believes there will be greater cost to consumers and she believes the Commission did not take into account new modeling used by TCI itself, and did not engage the public enough in its deliberations (largely via the Mitigation Working Group).

David Smedick of the Sierra Club said in the past he was upset with the lack of actionable items in the recommendations of the annual reports. But he is pleased with this report, which he said is the best he has seen in the past five years and is happy to support it.

Jeff Silva, Montgomery County citizen urged the Commission to consider bumping up its messaging to the public about the harmful impacts of Climate Change on Maryland. He suggests posting public service announcements online and at many state agencies' lobbies. He would like to see more interaction with the Commission and the public, as well.

Michael Powell motioned to call the vote and it was seconded by Treasurer Nancy Kopp. Chris Hoagland called the roll for members to vote one by one. All voted 'YES' in support of this report, which will be submitted by November 15 to Governor Hogan and the General Assembly. There was one abstention by Maryland Energy Administrator Mary Beth Tung who said she feels this report production was rushed, relied on "too much electrification." Director Tung would like to see a decarbonization study conducted among four state agencies.

Before casting his vote, Sen. Paul Pinsky thanked everyone and said he was encouraged by the progress the Commission has made this year, which he thinks is greater than all previous five years. He also announced his attention to sponsor, with fellow Commission member Delegate Dana Stein, the Climate Solutions Act, building on this annual report. He hopes the members here will support the added specificity and aggressive timeline their proposed legislation will call for in the 2021 Legislative Session. Mr. Pinsky and Mr. Stein voted in support of the Annual Report following these comments.



Commissioners voting in the affirmative (16 needed to pass):

Sec. Ben Grumbles, chair Anne Linder, co-chair Charles Deegan Chuck Fry, by proxy Dana Stein Ellington Churchill by proxy Gerald Jackson Greg Slater by proxy Jane Kirschling Jeannie Haddaway-Riccio Jesse Iliff by proxy Joe Bartenfelder Karen Salmon by proxy Mark Belton Michael Bibb Mike Powell Nancy Kopp Paul Pinsky Peter Goodwin Robert Mccord Russ Dickerson Lori Arguelles in absentia

After the vote, Chairman Grumbles thanked everyone for diligently working on the report. He conceded that there are areas that the Commission needs to continue working on. "The ambition is there. The achievability is there."

Commission member and Maryland State Treasurer Nancy Kopp announced that this report represents a significant step forward. She thanked the chair and the co-chairs of the Commission as well as the working groups, and staff, especially commending Chris Hoagland for so excellently shepherding the members through the process, leading to the Commission's success this year. "Without Chris, I don't think it would happen," she added.

The Chairman adjourned the meeting at 1:44 p.m.

The 2021 Meetings are scheduled as following, but times and dates are subject to changes:

## **2021 COMMISSION MEETINGS,** 1-3 p.m.

Monday April 19 Monday June 21 Monday September 13 Monday November 15

